Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 10

Finlay made it to chapter 10. We are now a quarter of the way to chapter 40. Hopefully I can get there before the manga translator finishes uploading chapters on to mangadex. Over the weekend I will most likely not post any chapters we will see. Here is chapter 10 please enjoy.

Title: Dreaming with Satou-san

Satou-san was sitting next to me. I was still in a state of disbelief. Just a few minutes ago, I was sitting on the left, but now I was sitting on the right. What could this be? Of course it was a coincidence, but it couldn’t be anything else, but it was a strange feeling. The buoyant feeling I had before I changed seats seemed to come back. Strange. I don’t believe it’s depressing to be next to Satou-san again, even though it’s going to cause more trouble.

When the bell finished ringing, Satou-san took out her textbook and notebook.

“The textbook’s changed, so it’s a little hard to remember.”(S)

As she said this, I was examining the textbook for my next class. The words “Geology” on the cover are unfamiliar to me as well. The fact that Satou-san is on the right side of the class is also unfamiliar to me.

“Hey, Yamaguchi-kun. What do you do in geology?”(S)

Suddenly, Satou-san turned to me. Surprised, I quickly pulled out my textbook from the desk. With trembling fingers, I opened the page and replied, looking away.

“I guess it’s what the textbook says.”(Y)

“Okay. I haven’t gone through it all yet.”(S)

Satou-san is as carefree as ever.

“I hope the class isn’t too difficult.”(S)

I wonder what a less difficult class would be like for her. She’d be called on in class again anyway, and she’d get stuck on the answers or even taking notes. Yes. It’s annoying. I took a deep breath. I breathed quietly so she wouldn’t hear me. Then I told her, pretending to be normal.

“You should at least do some reading before you get called on.”(Y)

Then she blinked. She nodded immediately.

“Oh, yeah. That’s right.”(S)

“Yeah. You’re already in your third year, and you don’t want to have to stop class every time you are asked a question Satou-san.”(Y)

I meant to say it very plainly, but my voice is still floating in the air. It’s really strange. What am I so fidgety about?

“That’s right. Before, Yamaguchi-kun helped me too.”(S)

Satou-san is Satou-san, and at this point in time she speaks of what happened before.That time was just a whim, nothing more than that. And yet she was persistent.

“I haven’t thanked you yet, have I?”(S)

I scowled as she even said that.

“Don’t worry about it.”(Y)

No. I want to return the favor.”(S)

Satou-san is proud of herself.

“When Yamaguchi-kun gets a called on, I want to be able to tell him the answer this time.”(S)

I honestly thought it was one big favor. It had to be a situation where I was being called on by the teacher and I was stuck for an answer. I can’t believe that Satou-san knows the answer to a question I don’t know, and she’s willing to share it with me. I can assure you that it is not happening. But I can’t just pretend that I don’t understand what she is doing. The answers that Satou-san gives me are likely to be wrong and unreliable.

I removed my gaze from her with a scowl on my face.

“Well, good luck with that. Satou-san.”(Y)

“Yeah, I’ll do my best.”(S)

I hear Satou-san’s voice in the seat to my right. It sounds weird from a different direction than before.

“I’m glad I’m sitting next to you again, Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

The words continued in a very casual tone, and my shoulders tensed unnaturally.

“Huh.”(Y)

There was a window to my left that let the sun shine through. The midday sun was blazing down on me, and I suddenly realized that it was hot.

“What makes you think that?”(Y)

I dare to ask her back, even though I know her answer is obvious.

Maybe the answer will be different from what I expected – I don’t know why I thought that. That can’t be true. I don’t know what kind of answer I’m hoping for in the first place.And Satou-san replied without knowing my fuzzy feelings.

“It gave me a chance to thank you. I definitely wanted to return the favor.”(S)

I knew the answer was as I expected. Satou-san hasn’t changed in any way since we moved up a grade. I think it’s a dream. If anything, it was a nightmare. I think I’m having a bad dream, one that is extremely disturbing, makes me sweat, and makes it hard to breathe. But in reality, the seat change is over and Satou-san is next to me again. But in reality, the change of seats is over, and Satou-san is next to me again. And I’m… I’ve been fidgety since a while ago. I can’t even get out of my melancholy mood, and the strong sunshine on the window seat has been bothering me since spring.

A short time after the geology class began, I could hear her breathing in her sleep from the seat to my right. Glancing sideways, I saw that Satou-san was propped up on her desk, her eyes closed and her red lips slightly open. Her eyes were closed and her red lips were slightly open. The sunlight through the window must have been just the right amount of warmth. Sitting at the back of the room was less likely to catch the teacher’s eye and loosen her mind. And the geology textbook is full of words she doesn’t recognize.

I sigh quietly. At this rate, I wonder how long it will take for her to return the favor. Let’s not get our hopes up. I never did in the first place. It’s just that the sleeping face that turned to me looked so innocent that I had a hard time not looking at it. On a whim, I peeked out from behind my textbook and felt dumbfounded every time I did.

I’m sure she must be having a good dream. I’m so jealous. I’ve been feeling restless, hot and bothered, and now I’m in a daze.


<-prev next->

2 thoughts on “Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 10

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started