Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 7

Here’s chapter 7. Hope you enjoy!

Title: White Day with the girl that sits next to me

Five minutes before the end of the lunch break, Satou-san returned to her seat next to me. I hurriedly straightened my posture. And when Satou-san returns, she is thrilled to find a blue ribbon bag in her hand. That was an assortment of cookies sold at the convenience store. The cookies lined up to give back on White Day were a nuisance that caught my eye every time I shopped. I didn’t care about White Day, so I thought I would just go through with it. But Sato-san has a cookie in her hand. And today is the White Day.

As I fidgeted, Satou-san, who had taken his seat, called out to me.

“Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

She turned awkwardly in that direction, and she was indeed quick on her feet. She untied the blue ribbon and opened a bag of cookies. She took three of them from inside and offered them to me. 

“Do you want one? Cookies.”(S)

“Eh….”(Y)

I was stunned. I don’t hate cookies. I have a sweet tooth. But that’s not the point. I thought today was White Day. I’m sure the cookies you have in your hand were made just for today.

“You sure?”(Y)

I asked back. Satou-san then smiled amiably.

“Yeah. I’ll give some to Yamaguchi-kun too!”(S)

“No, that’s not what I’m talking about…”(Y)

I hesitated for a moment. But I ended up asking.

“I’m just wondering if that’s what someone gave you in return.”(Y)

It’s White Day today. I don’t know who she gave the chocolate to, I don’t know. I’m not the kind of person who can ask such a question. I’m not interested in it. I shouldn’t have, I shouldn’t have. Anyway, if Satou-san had given someone chocolate for Valentine’s Day a month ago, and the cookie was the one she received in return, then I would be–.

“In return?”(S)

She tilts her head slightly. You’re playing dumb at this point in time. It was quite painful to chew it out and explain it to her.

“So, it’s White Day, right?”(Y)

“Yeah, I guess so.”(S)

“Someone gave you those cookies, didn’t they? If that’s the case, then what you’re giving me is…”(Y)

“Oh, that’s what you mean! No, no.”(S)

It finally seemed to sink in, and Satou-san shook her head.

“I bought this for myself.”(S)

“For your own use?”(Y)

When I ask her back, an embarrassed Satou-san nods her head in agreement.

“See, the White Day stuff has been on display. When I saw all the cookies on the shelves, I felt like I wanted to eat them…”(S)

Oh, I get it. That’s some pretty disturbing eating habits you’ve got going on here.

“I was eating some after my lunch earlier too. It was delicious.”(S)

Satou-san pointed to a cookie in her hand.I was inexplicably relieved to hear her words. But I’m not even going to mention it. There was no way I could do that. Instead, I bitterly smiled.

“Satou-san, you like cookies?”(Y)

“Yeah, I love them.”(S)

Satou-san is a straightforward person. That’s why she buys the cookies on sale without thinking about the meaning of White Day, just because she wants to eat them. I, on the other hand, couldn’t possibly be honest. From a while ago, I’ve been wandering around with only one hand in my desk drawer, where Satou-san can’t see me hesitating.

“So if you would like, please have some”(S)

She offered me three cookies.

“Thanks…..”(Y)

I’ll take the free one’s hand, I guess. I didn’t say I wanted it. It’s just that I don’t want to receive it.

Sato-san stares at me with a big smile as I hold the cookie in my hand. 

It’s hard to eat with her looking at me, and I can’t make up my mind before that. Does she want to share the deliciousness of the cookie with others so much? How eager are you to eat? The more the topic of cookies continues, the harder it is for me to bring it out. I had no choice but to make up my mind as her gaze was hard to shift. I fearfully put my hand out of the desk drawer.

“Actually, you know what?”(Y)

Then I gently thrust what I was holding at her.

“I bought these cookies too.”(Y)

My hand is also grasping a familiar bag. It is a bag of cookies with a blue ribbon on it. They were the cookies for white day that were sold at the convenience store. Then I glanced over and saw that Satou-san widen her eyes.

“Yamaguchi-kun bought it too?”(S)

“Umm, yeah, well…”(Y)

“It looks good so I decided to buy it.”

She agreed with me and she nodded enthusiastically. So I nodded back vaguely, too.

“Convenience stores are good at selling. I can’t help but buy things like that.”(Y)

“I know, I know! It makes me want to eat a lot!”(S)

When I see Mr. Sato in a huff, I can’t really say it. It’s as if I’m one of those people who was beaten to the coerced by the convenience store’s advertising and made to buy cookies.

“Then I’ll give you some of what I bought. I’ll give you some.”(Y)

“Wow, thank you! Let’s compare!”(S)

I ended up sharing some of the cookies I had bought with her, too. I shared them with her, that’s all.The timing was bad too. There was no way I could say that it was actually meant to be a return gift for Valentine’s Day. I should have pretended that I didn’t know about White Day, after all. Because it was pretty hard to eat all the rest of the cookies by myself.


If there are any errors or suggestions please comment down below

<-prev next->

13 thoughts on “Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 7

    1. I will consider it. Right now I plan on focusing on the current project but in the future I plan on picking up other series. The series you are suggesting seems interesting but I want more chapters to come out before I decide to pick it up

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you for the translation! I think the manga will end on the park swing chapter.

    Also, after you have reached your goal chapter, will you still translate the rest of the novel? I have read the raw, but my Japanese isn’t that great so i got pretty confused at some parts lol.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started