Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 21

I love google translate sometimes (read the chapter title).


Title: (Unofficial google translate title: Why Satou floats) Why Satou-san is excited.

The school trip is next week. It’s almost upon us, and maybe that’s why the atmosphere in class has been very upbeat lately. Of course, Satou-san was no different. She finally received a copy of “Pamphlet for School Trip” from my teacher, which she hadn’t received because she was absent, and she has been reading it throughout the lunch break. I’m sitting next to her and watching her with amazement as her eyes light up in profile. You should read it when you get home.

While Satou-san was resting, all the details of the school trip had been decided. She had to decide on the rooms and groups for free activities. She also had to decide which bus and train seats to take. According to what I heard, Satou-san was able to join a group with the girls’ who are friends. She looks at the bookmarks with a smile on her face. Her face lit up as she turned the pages, and she looked happy. I’m so absorbed in it, I feel like I’m in grade school. It’s not the first time I’ve been childish, though.

“Looking forward to the school trip?”(S)

While looking at the bookmark, Satou-san suddenly mutters to herself. I guess she is talking to herself. Aren’t you getting a little too carried away? I’m not sure why Satou-san looked at me suspiciously when I stayed silent.

“Hey, Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

I’d thought she was so engrossed in her pamphlets that she didn’t pay any attention to me sitting next to her. I wonder if she knows that I’ve been watching her all along. I didn’t mean to look at her in a strange way, but I answered impatiently.

“I suppose so.”(Y)

“Yeah.”(S)

Satou-san nodded.

“I’ve never been to Hokkaido, so I’m really looking forward to it. It must be a wonderful place.”(S)

She is fascinated while thinking about the destination.

It’s not hard to  understand why you want to get carried away for once. It was my first time in Hokkaido. According to my teacher, it is still chilly at the end of May, but I don’t know what it is like.

“My friend said the clock tower is cute.”(S)

I wondered about Satou-san’s cheerfulness.

“Cute…? The clock tower in Sapporo?”(Y)

I’ve only seen it on TV and in magazines, but it didn’t look cute. In fact, It looked rather respectable and towering, but what was cute about it? As I wondered about this, Satou-san smiled a little and told me,

“I heard that the clock tower is located in a high-rise district. Did you know that?”(S)

“Huh, I didn’t know that. I didn’t know it was not in a natural setting .”(Y)

My image of Hokkaido is of a farm, cows and sheep. That’s why I assumed that the clock tower was built in an area like that.

“Yeah. It’s very quiet and cozy, built between buildings. I was talking to my friend about how cute it was and how it looked like it was trying to do its best.”(S)

I didn’t know about that.

That clock tower looked like a very big building when I saw it in a photo, but it is not so big in reality. It is unexpected that it is located in a high-rise area. I wonder what it looks like to be so quiet and cozy. Is it as ‘cute’ as Satou-san and the others say?

“A friend told me what else they know.”(S)

Holding a bookmark in her hand, Sato-san continued, somewhat proudly, 

“Which shop has the best ice cream, which ramen is the best, where to buy souvenirs…”(S)

“That’s great. Your friend knows a lot about Hokkaido.”(Y)

A friend of Satou-san. Is she a classmate? I was frankly impressed, and Satou-san smiled as if her friend was her.

“It’s great. You’ve been so kind to teach me so many things… Oh, I’ll teach Yamaguchi-kun more about it later.(S)

“Thank you. I’d love to hear where you buy your souvenirs.”(Y)

“Yeah. My friend is from Hokkaido, so they know a lot of things. I’m sure it’s a good place.”(S)

Satou-san said in an upbeat manner. So I was again dubious and asked back.

“Are they a Hokkaido native? Is your friend who lives over there?”(Y)

“Oh, yeah. She was born and raised there.”(Y)

So you have a friend far away from home, Satou-san. I’m surprised. I am sure you can teach me this and that.

“So, do you have plans to meet them when you’re on your own?”

When I asked her that, she huffed and her expression clouded over. While shaking her head.

“No … I don’t think that’s possible. They have school to attend.”(Y)

“I see. Come to think of it is a school day.”(Y)

“And I didn’t think I’d be able to get in touch with them since I won’t have my phone with me.”(S)

According to the school trip booklet, we were indeed not allowed to bring our cell phones. Of course, I’m just wondering how many people are going to follow it. I’m going to be able to successfully get it sneaked through the inspection of my belongings. I’m sure Satou-san will probably not be able to do it, but – even if she doesn’t have a cell phone, there is a pay phone in the hotel, and I thought we could get in touch with her, but oh well. That’s what she said, so I guess that’s how it works.

“But it would be nice to see them, though.”(S)

“I’d be happy to see you, even if it’s by chance, but…”(Y)

Would I be talking to myself this time? I was puzzled. There was a shadow on Satou-san’s face, and I didn’t know what to say. I knew she was going to Hokkaido, to a place where her friends lived, and she wanted to see them. But I heard that she couldn’t meet them. I don’t know exactly why, but I wasn’t sure if I should go in there and ask further. So I just told her,

“I hope you can meet”(Y)

That’s all I told her.

I wish I could. I don’t know what’s going on here, but it would be nice. It would be great if Satou-san’s friends could meet her. That’s about all I can say, and then I don’t know anything else to say.

But with that, Sato-san looked up in a flash. With a bright face as if she looked different, she nodded firmly towards me.

“Yeah. Thank you, Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

“No, no, I didn’t do anything.”(Y)

“That’s not true. When you say that to me, Yamaguchi-kun, it makes me feel safe.”(S)

Satou-san is prasing me too much. It’s not that I was just saying bland words, but there’s nothing in particular to put you at ease. I just hope that the school trip was fun for her – and I don’t know why I would think such a thing either. I don’t know why I think that. To tell the truth, I’m in a bit of a funk, too.

“Oh, yeah…”(Y)

If I was able to help you, well, I’m glad. As I responded vaguely, Satou-san smiled again.

“I’m looking forward to the school trip, after all!”(S)

I don’t mind getting carried away, but the school trip is next week. I even feel that Satou-san is in danger of flying off to Hokkaido right now. In fact, she doesn’t even seem to have read the last of the school trip’s pamphlets.

Satou-san looked down at the bookmark again, and then she called out at the page.

“Yamaguchi-kun!”(S)

“…What?”(Y)

“Me and Yamaguchi-kun, right next to each other!”(S)

I glance over at Satou-san’s hand as she speaks. In the school trip pamphlet, I found a page with the bus seating chart. There, my name and Satou-san’s were listed next to each other.There are more girls in our class. For that reason, some girls were supposed to sit in the extra seats, and it just so happened that I happened to be sitting next to Satou-san’s seat. It was a strange coincidence.

“It’s an amazing coincidence that we’re sitting next to each other on the bus.”(S)

Satou-san, who was excited, smiled good-humoredly at me.  didn’t feel like sharing in the fun, but I couldn’t pretend to be indifferent, so I smiled and replied in the end.

“It’s a coincidence, isn’t it?”(Y)

I can’t tell you how happy I was to hear that you were happy, too.

I didn’t hate her, so when I got to sit next to her, I was happy. I was so happy that I’ve been embarrassed about this for so long that I’ve kept my mouth shut until now. I guess I’m still excited to.


<-prev next->

2 thoughts on “Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 21

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started