Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 36

This chapter take on a whole new perspective. It takes place the exact same time as the last chapter.

Note: If you have read chapter 35 before this chapter has been posted. There is high chance a tiny bit of the dialogue has changed from what you read in that chapter. When translating this chapter I noticed an error and fixed. You can either re-read last chapter or just read this chapter to see the fixed dialogue.


Title: Satou-san and Yamaguchi-kun

He’s like a fish in water. When he’s playing basketball, Yamaguchi is pretty determined. He dribbles in from a pass cut, goes through the encirclement, and aims for a net at once. It’s cool to see him this way. The ball is knocked down and then shot. One of the girls cheered at that well-placed move. After the sound of the ball falling, a whistle sounds. The boys’ gym class is basketball. The girls’ is a dull mat exercise, so naturally everyone’s eyes are turned towards the boys. The center of attention, of course, is Yamaguchi, a former basketball player. I’m sure he’s not too bad, even in my eyes, smiling as he celebrates his shot with the other guys.

If I moved my gaze, I’m sure she’s looking at it too – I knew it. Satou-san looked at Yamaguchi-kun. I’m sure She’s not the only one.

As soon as she stood next to me, I called out to her.

“As expected of an ex-basketball team member. He really knows how to shoot.”(Yukawa)

Now, I wonder what kind of reaction I’ll get. I look into Sato-san’s face.

“Yamaguchi-kun is really cool, isn’t he?”(Yukawa)

When I asked for her opinion, Satou-san looked surprised and asked back with round eyes.

“He was on the basketball team, Yamaguchi-kun?”(S)

Surprising. I was more surprised than She was. You are so close to him, Satou-san, and you don’t even know that?

“Yes, back in middle school. Didn’t you know that?”(Yukawa)

I’m from the same junior high school as Yamaguchi. We’re not particularly close, but we easily  talk to each other, and I know a lot about him. But I didn’t expect you to not know Yamaguchi-kun very well, Satou-san.

“Because I didn’t go to the same junior high school as Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

Satou-san said suspiciously.

“No, that’s not what I’m talking about.”(Yukawa)

I can’t help but laugh and make fun of her.

“Sato-san, you and Yamaguchi-kun are good friends, so of course I thought you knew.”(Yukawa)

“….I didn’t know that.”(S)

She replied somewhat vaguely, and Satou-san’s gaze returned to the boys, across the gym. I thought she was looking at Yamaguchi, but he looked down in disappointment shortly thereafter – leaving me with a hazy question in my mind. So what’s going on with these two?

Even at lunchtime, I saw them sitting next to each other, talking.

“Satou-san isn’t very good at mat exercise either?”(Y)

“Oh, you’ve been watching me?”(S)

“I saw you. It was a coincidence. Because it was in the gym, anyone would have been able to see it.”(Y)

There’s no excuse Yamaguchi-kun. If you were watching her, you should have just said so. I bite back a laugh and casually look in the corner of the classroom, in the direction of where our seats are lined up.

Satou-san and Yamaguchi have been seated next to each other twice in a row. I don’t know what to say if I don’t call it fate that they sit next to each other again even though we change seats. I’m sure those two people’s little fingers are tied tightly together by a red thread. Even from this side, they are very close. But there are some things that are not so clear. I wonder what Sato-san thinks about Yamaguchi. They talk a lot, and they get along well. I wondered if she liked him, but I didn’t know her that well, and she doesn’t have that much of a friendship towards me. I’m not sure if she’s in love with him or not, but she’s always plain, so even if she does have feelings for him, it’s not always easy to see. It’s probably none of my business, that I’m just a classmate thinking like this, but I can’t help it, because I care about what I care about. I did ask her about it once. Not long ago, I asked Sato-san if there was a girl in Yamaguchi-kun’s life that he liked, with the intention of getting a bite out of her. The answer I got was,  ‘I’ve never heard of him liking someone…’ It was, though. At any rate, I think Yamaguchi-kun’s is too obvious. It’s so obvious, and it’s just his attitude. The whole class knows. –Yeah, I don’t think he and Satou-san are the only ones who don’t know that it’s obvious.

Satou-san and Yamaguchi-kun are continuing their conversation, unaware that I am listening in.

“Yamaguchi-kun, you were on the basketball team in junior high school, weren’t you?”(S)

“What? Did I tell you that?”(Y)

“No, I talked to Yukawa-san about it. Yamaguchi-kun used to play basketball when he was in junior high school, she said.”(S)

“Oh, I see. That’s right.”(Y)

I knew she didn’t know that. I think you should be the first to talk about that kind of thing. It’s the best way to show off to a girl.

“Didn’t you take a shot in gym class earlier?”(S)

“Well, you know, I could do that stuff like that all the time.”(Y)

Yamaguchi-kun answered flatly, but then laughed a little. You can’t show that bashful smile to the rest of your classmates, it’s something you never show to us. It’s a smile that’s exclusive to you, Satou-san.

“What is this? Satuo-san was probably looking at us too.”(Y)

“No, no. I didn’t see it. I just missed the part where Yamaguchi-kun took the shot.”(S)

Oh……..that’s right, Satou-san. You didn’t see it, did you? I was watching it too. No, but I don’t think it’s such a bad idea to say such things honestly. Yamaguchi, you’re freezing.

“You didn’t see it?”(Y)

“Yes.”(S)

“And just mine?”(Y)

That’s a good question. Basketball is Yamaguchi-kun’s best chance to show off his skills. Normally, you would think you need to show something cool.

“Oh, yeah, that’s right. But then I was watching, but, you know, before Yamaguchi-kun could hold the ball next, it was my turn to do the mat exercise, so…”(S)

Now Satuo-san makes an excuse. He thought it was bad, as expected. But…

“Oh yeah.”(Y)

Oh, Yamaguchi is sulking. He’s looking away. He’s so obvious.

“I’m sorry…”(S)

Satou-san starts to follow up in a hurry. I’m not sure if he understands.

“Um, next time I’ll make sure I’m watching you properly, Yamaguchi-kun’s shot,”(S)

“I don’t mind.”(Y)

“No, I’ll see you next time. Boys gym, next up is basketball, right?”(S)

“Yeah, but…”(Y)

Yamaguchi sighs. He’s still sulking.

“But even girls are doing basketball, right? Do you have time to look at the other side, Satou-san?”(Y)

No! That’s where you’re going to ask her to return the favor, like, ‘Well, you’ll have to watch it right next time’ or something! Oh, God, why can’t you be honest with her, Yamaguchi-kun? It’s always like this. When I’m barely grinding my teeth, I can hear Sato-san’s desperate voice.

“Oh, okay, I’ll tell you what ,I was wondering if you could teach me how to play basketball.”(S)

Oh, nice follow-up, Satou-san. I’m sure even Yamaguchi-kun will respond to this honestly.

“Me?”(Y)

Don’t ask back! Who else could it be?

“I’m sure you can. See, I want to be able to do as much as I can before the next class.”(S)

“Though, that’s fine.”(Y)

There too, the ‘though’ is superfluous!

“You say I’m going to teach you, but in Satou-san’s case, how much do you need to be taught?”(Y)

“I’m gonna need you to teach me how to dribble first.”(S)

“I’m sure you do.”(Yukawa)

And it’s kind of dry. I wish you could be more honest with her. It’s only because you’re not being honest with her that it’s obvious to us that you like her. Whether he knew what I was thinking or not, Yamaguchi-kun eventually gave his answer, as if he had given up on the matter.

“All right, all right. I tell you it’s fine for me to teach you.”(Y)

“Thank you.”(S)

Softly, Satou-san laughed. Then, as if an idea had occurred to her, she continued.

“And hey, I’d like to see Yamaguchi-kun shoot then, too.”(S)

“That’s fine.”(Y)

Eh. You’re not even paying attention. I mean, are you still sulking? About earlier. You have to be more honest.

“Yeah, but I’d like to see it.”(S)

“When I asked you to look at me, it sounded like I was giving you a hard time.”(Y)

You’re making things up. Actually.

“I don’t see it that way.”(S)

You’re very kind, Satou-san. If it were me, I would have said it outright. I’ve been itching to give him a kick in the butt. I want to tell him directly. I’ll tell him to be honest!

“After dribbling, why don’t you teach me how to shoot, too?”(S)

When Satou-san asks for a favor, Yamaguchi-kun thinks for a moment and then

“Okay, fine. ……….it’s not that big of a deal to say yes.”(Y)

“Really? Thank you!”(S)

Satou-san clapped her hands in happiness. Seeing this, Yamaguchi gave a bitter smile.

“I’m not a match for you, Satou-san.”(Y)

May I see that as a confession of love?

Well, it’s obvious from the side, isn’t it? You love Satou-san, don’t you?  Oh my god, you should just be honest with her. I’m sure she’s not too bad either, from what I’ve heard from her. She’s got a good flow, and she knows how to appease Yamaguchi-kun. As expected, they would be the talk of the class. Could it be that the only thing left to do is confess to everyone? Let’s see. I wonder when we’ll be able to declare that they are together. There’s no point in trying to hide it, either of you. I’m not the only one who’s itching to get it right.

“…Yukawa-san? You’ve been glancing at me earlier, did you want to see me?”(S)

“You’re so smiley. Are you having a love affair?”(Yukawa)

“No, it’s nothing.”(S)

No, it’s nothing. I’m still not going to tell you that you’re a class-approved couple and I’m smiling at you – I’m not going to tell you yet. At best, you can talk about your love with an obvious attitude.


Notes:

It was very interesting to have a third party perspective on the two of them. I really like how she is like us, the readers watching in on the situation and shipping them.However I personally would have preferred Murakami’s perspective. 

This chapter was a nightmare translating the dialogue. I had to keep on referring back to the last chapter to make sure everything was the same. It was a huge pain. There are some places where there is dialogue that was not said in the previous chapter manking me go through everything again making sure I had not made any mistakes. In the end I think it took me longer to do this chapter then the original one. I hope for my sake the author does not do this again.

We also found out who asked Satou about who Yamaguchi likes way back in the hotel lobby chapter. Also we see the entire class knows about them and is probably shipping them

<-prev next->

4 thoughts on “Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 36

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started