Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 16

Here is chapter 16. It takes place the next school day after the last chapter. Enjoy.


Title:  Satou-san and the resonance of sensitivity

My feet were heavy in the morning as I headed to school. It’s not that something has happened to me, and I don’t need to feel the pull back. It would be fine if I just did what I normally do, but why? I don’t feel comfortable meeting with Satou-san. I don’t know what kind of face I should have. I don’t know what a normal face looks like in the first place. What kind of face did I always make when I was with her? Come to think of it, I can’t remember what I used to look like. I couldn’t seem to make any kind of face, so I kept frowning until I got to the classroom.

“Oh, Yamaguchi-kun. Hi, Yamaguchi-kun!”(S)

When I reached my seat in the classroom, Sato-san approached me. I responded in a whisper as I put my bag on the desk.

“Good morning.”

I feel the blood gather on my cheeks and look down. Then I see her in the seat next to me stand up and come over to my seat. I could tell just by the movement of the hem of her skirt.

“You know, thanks for yesterday.”(S)

Satou-san’s voice is the same as always. Bright and childlike.

“Yeah, well I didn’t do much.”(Y)

In contrast, I only replied in a rambling manner.

You don’t have to thank me.I didn’t do anything. I didn’t do anything. Pretend I didn’t do anything.

“You know, I was able to do my book report on the book afterwards.(S)

Satou-san said, clapping her hands in a small way.

“I showed it to Murakami-sensei and she said it was very good. She said it was a passing grade.”(S)

“Well that’s good.”(Y)

I was a little relieved to hear that about the report. I was curious. Just a little bit. I knew you were thinking hard, and I had seen it. That’s why I wondered if you been able to submit your report properly after that.

“It’s all thanks to you, Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

“No, I don’t think that’s true.(Y)

Hearing Sato-san’s words, I frowned in dismay. –I was going to, but then I realized I was smiling bitterly. Oddly enough, my mouth relaxes. The smirk was weird even for me, so I hurriedly and secretly pinched my cheek.

“I guess it’s because of Sato-san’s hard work.”(Y)

I say with an air of nonchalance and pull out a chair to take a seat.

I was only going to decide to be someone else’s problem. We don’t need any thanks or appreciation. I know you’re a bit of a persistent person, but that’s okay, it’s all in the past. I wish you would study hard to avoid the same thing that happened to you. Also, I want you to learn how to get to the point where you can cut corners reasonably well. This is sorely needed.

“But you know what?”(S)

Satou-san was as persistent as ever.

“Murakami-sensei also said that this was thanks to Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

“Hmmm… what?”(Y)

I looked up as quickly as I could, trying to listen. It was the first time I had seen Sato-san’s face today. I didn’t even have time to be embarrassed when I saw her smiling face up close. I don’t really have any reason to be embarrassed, but I’m used to seeing her sitting next to me. Be that as it may.

“Why would Murakami-sensei say that?”(Y)

I asked a natural question.

Yesterday’s talk was just me and Satou-san. No one else was in that classroom, and there was no indication that the teacher was watching us in the corridor, at least I believed. In fact, while I left the classroom and headed for the elevator, I didn’t see anyone, let alone Murakami-sensei. So, whatever I said to Satou-san, no one but her could have known.

“Yeah, why?S)

Satou-san’s manner of speaking made it seem as if my question was a mystery.

“I turned in my book report, so…”(S)

“No, no, that’s not what I’m talking about.”(Y)

“I was able to write it because of the advice you gave me yesterday, Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

“I didn’t do anything. Where does Murakami-sensei come into the picture?”(Y)

“Sensei asked, ‘How did you learn to write like this?’.”(S)

She said it like it was nothing.

“I said, ‘Yamaguchi-kun taught me how to do it.’ I said that Yamaguchi-kun explained what I wanted to write about in a way that was easy to understand, that he taught me the word ’empathy’ so I could write my impressions too.”

The morning classroom was bustling with activity, but only this one area in the last row by the window was quiet. My inner turmoil and the sound of my throat clearing could be heard in every instance. Satou-san is smiling, as usual, with an open and honest smile.

“Why?”(Y)

I said, pinching myself to the point where I thought it was odd.

“Why did you say that? Why don’t you just be a normal person and keep quiet?(Y)

“Why?”(S)

“Because…”(Y)

It was hard to answer when she asked straight back. I look away and answer only in my mind. My advice is of no importance anyway. Besides, it would be better for the teacher to say that Satou-san wrote it up on her own.

“Murakami-sensei, spoke very highly of you Yamaguchi-kun. She said, ‘Yamaguchi-kun’s sensitivity resonated with you, and he had a positive effect on you’.”(S)

“No, no, that’s not it.”(Y)

“I agree. If it wasn’t for your words, I don’t think I could have written it.”(S)

It is unclear whether Satou-san really ‘felt’ that way or not. I don’t know to what extent she understands the phrases ‘sensitivity’ and ‘resonance’.

I don’t think so in the first place. I can’t stand being told that much just from that exchange. It’s not everyday that you find a susceptibility to sympathy and resonance. It’s not something that can be found in the biographies of great people, but it’s not something that can be found everywhere. I didn’t do anything. The fact that Satou-san was able to write a book report is only due to her ability. It should have been better for everyone to do so. But Satou-san’s natural ineptitude makes her blame others for the poor performance of her impressions in the report.

“And you know what, the teacher said I should thank you properly.”(S)

Saying this, Satou-san presented me with something she had hidden behind her back. It’s a box of chocolate candy. I’m sure she bought them at the convenience store.

“Yamaguchi-kun, you love chocolate, don’t you? You said so on Valentine’s Day, so I decided to get these. Would you take it?”(S)

How did you remember that? I was helplessly troubled, and of course I couldn’t touch her. Because yes, even though she said she hadn’t done anything, she still wanted to thank me for it. I’m dumbfounded.

“You don’t have to thank me.”(Y)

I said it honestly, but Satou-san shook her head.

“You’ve really helped me out, and you’ve always been a big help to me, Yamaguchi-kun.”(S)

“It’s not that…”(Y)

“No problem. Thank you for everything, and I’m always thankful for your help.”(S)

She smiled slyly as she placed the box of candy in my hand.

I wasn’t sure what kind of face I should be making, and I was in trouble. I knew that no matter what kind of face I tried to make, I would never get the look I wanted. On the contrary, Satou-san’s smile made me want to smile, so I was at a loss.

“Thank you for this.”(Y)

It doesn’t work. I can’t stop smiling. I accepted the candy from Satou-san with a grimace that gave me the creeps. I think I’m looking really creepy right now. But I can’t help it.

“Yeah. Thank you.”(S)

 Satou-san nodded and then added,

“Yamaguchi-kun is amazing. I was just thinking about how smart you really are. I thought that yesterday.”(S)

What’s amazing is Satou-san. She makes me want to laugh with her casual appearance. Come to think of it, until a little while ago, I couldn’t help but be uncomfortable with Satou-san. As I remembered that, as if in an old dream, I realized once again that I like Satou-san now.

Maybe this is what we call a resonance of sensitivity.


<-prev next->

6 thoughts on “Tonari no Seki no Satou-San chapter 16

  1. “Murakami-sensei, spoke very highly of you Yamaguchi-kun. She said, ‘Yamaguchi-kun’s sensitivity resonated with you, and he had a positive effect on you’.”(S)

    “No, no, that’s not it.”(S) < I think this is ment to be a Y

    “I agree. If it wasn’t for your words, I don’t think I could have written it.”(S)

    Like

  2. “It’s not that…”(Y)

    “No problem. Thank you for everything, and I’m always thankful for your help.”(Y) < And this a S

    She smiled slyly as she placed the box of candy in my hand.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started